The Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowships were established to increase public awareness of contemporary visual art in the Midwest. The intent of the fellowship is to reward creativity and encourage emerging and established individual artists by supporting their artistic development. Five $25,000 fellowships will be awarded to contemporary visual artists that currently reside in the Midwest.


Fellowship categories are restricted to installation, sculpture, and new media. Selection criteria includes the following:

  • Quality and skill
  • Creativity and uniqueness
  • Commitment to developing work
  • Impact the award will have on the artist’s career


To be eligible, artists must:

  • Be age 25 or older
  • Be a resident of either Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin
  • Commit to residing in Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin for the duration of the fellowship


Your information has been submitted. Thanks!