The Division of the Humanities awards Hanna Holborn Gray Dissertation Completion Fellowships to rising 6th year or 7th year doctoral students who are sufficiently advanced in the writing of their dissertation that they are expected to complete the dissertation during the time they hold the award. This fellowship recognizes the student’s academic achievement and will enable the student to devote full attention and effort towards completing the dissertation.


Only Ph.D. candidates in the humanities are eligible. Please note that this competition requires nomination by the student’s department. Departments set earlier internal application deadlines for students, so they can review and nominate to the fellowship review committee. Please check with your department for more information.

Nomination Deadline

April 2, 2024

Your information has been submitted. Thanks!