The Kress History of Art: Institutional Fellowships are intended to provide promising young art historians with the opportunity to experience immersion through extended engagement with a European art research center.

Six pre-doctoral Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art are awarded each year. Each fellowship provides for a two-year research appointment hosted by one of the following European art history research centers:

  • Florence Kunsthistorisches Institut / Institute for Art History
  • Leiden Kunsthistorisch Instituut der Rijksuniversiteit / Art Historical Institute, Rijksuniversiteit
  • London Courtauld Institute of Art & Warburg Institute of Art (jointly administered)
  • Munich Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte / Central Institute for Art History
  • Paris Institut national d’histoire de l’art (INHA) / National Institute for the History of Art
  • Rome Bibliotheca Hertziana

The fellowship award is $30,000 per annum.


  • Restricted to pre-doctoral candidates in the history of art and related disciplines (such as archaeology, architecture, or classics). Dissertation research must focus on European art from antiquity to the early 19th century.
  • Nominees must be U.S. citizens or individuals matriculated at an American university.
  • Candidates must be nominated by their academic department. Each university is limited to two nominees per academic department. The nominees must be applying for different research centers.

Annual Deadline

November 30


Your information has been submitted. Thanks!