The Department of State’s Title VIII program funds graduate students with U.S. citizenship to study the less commonly taught languages of Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union. Graduate students may apply for Title VIII funding to attend intensive summer instruction in less commonly taught languages of Russia, Eurasia, and East Europe at Arizona State University.

Eligible LanguagesĀ 

  • Albanian
  • Armenian
  • Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian (BCS)
  • Macedonian
  • Polish
  • Russian (3rd year or higher)
  • Tatar
  • Ukrainian
  • Uzbek


  • U.S. citizens
  • Enrolled or incoming students in master’s or doctoral programs of study at credentialed higher education institutions.

Your information has been submitted. Thanks!